Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom – Media Preview

Please note: some posts may contain affiliate links which means our team could earn money if you purchase products from our site

Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom - Media Preview

Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom is one wild nighttime adventure.  For the first time, Disney After Hours has created an event for Disney’s Animal Kingdom.  I had the honor of attending the first event, and WOW! The magic just came alive.

Ticket Pricing 

Advance Ticket Price – $125 per person adult or child

Day of Event Price – $129 per person adult or child

Annual Passholder and Disney Vacation Club Member Price – $95 per person adult or child

Dates

  • Wednesday, December 12, 2018
  • Tuesday, December 18, 2018
  • Tuesday, January 8, 2019
  • Wednesday, January 16, 2019
  • Tuesday, January 22, 2019
  • Thursday, January 31, 2019
  • Tuesday, February 5, 2019
  • Wednesday, February 6, 2019
  • Tuesday, February 12, 2019
  • Wednesday, February 13, 2019
  • Tuesday, February 19, 2019
  • Tuesday, February 26, 2019
  • Tuesday, March 5, 2019
  • Wednesday, March 20, 2019
  • Wednesday, March 27, 2019
  • Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Event guests with Disney After Hours tickets can enter the park at 7:00 pm.  The party officially starts at 8:30 pm and lasts until 11:30 pm. Each guest will receive a wristband after entering the gates, and an event guide.

 

Rides

F-I-V-E, five minutes that is all any ride had for a wait.  Honestly, it was less than that because it was just your walk to the front of the queue.  It was amazing.  Never did I ever think that I would see a day that Flight of Passage and Na’vi River Journey would be a five-minute standby line. Being able to ride Flight of Passage a handful of times in a row was AWESOME! Also, I walked right up to front row on Expedition Everest and had TriceraTop Spin pretty much all to myself.

Entertainment

Rivers of Light, Tree of Life Awakenings, Pandora Drummers and a Dino-riffic Dance Party brought the park to life.  The performance of Rivers of Light was unreal because it felt like the show was just for me.  Unlike a regular night where the stands are jam-packed, and you are struggling to get a decent seat with a view, this was a breath of fresh air.  I saw so much more of the show and could enjoy the details. Also throughout the evening, the Tree of Life Awakenings projections cast a beautiful glow on Discovery Island.  Kicking the party up a notch in the Valley of Mo’ara were the Pandora Drummers.  They had the whole crowd chanting and cheering along.  Last but not least, the Dino-riffic Dance Party had Dinoland U.S.A up on their feet dancing the night away with Chip and Dale.

Snacks

Included with the After Hours party admission is complimentary snacks and drinks.  It is all you care to enjoy popcorn, Mickey ice cream bars, Mickey ice cream sandwiches, and strawberry popsicles.  If you are thirsty, you can choose between bottled water, Sprite, Diet Coke or regular Coca-Cola.  Believe you me; I took FULL advantage of all I cared to enjoy Mickey ice cream bars.  I have a weakness what can I say?! Also, guests can enjoy (to purchase) refreshments at Pongu Pongu, Thirsty River Bar & Trek Snacks and other bars around the park.

Merchandise

On any given day in Windtraders, it is slammed, and you can’t even get near the rookery. During the event after I exited Flight of Passage, I was able to leisurely shop around. I saw quite a few families enjoying the lack of a line to adopt a banshee.  Other shops were also open – The Dino Institute and Serka Zong Bazaar.

Overall Thoughts

Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom - Media Preview

The best way to describe Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom is, it is the closest experience to having a Disney Park all to myself.  No lines, no rushing, and all the Disney magic. I still can not believe Flight of Passage was a five-minute wait! Not to mention, it is absolutely gorgeous all lit up at night. It was incredible. Thank you again to Disney for inviting Chip and Co.  To find out more information and purchase your tickets, click here. Will you and your family be attending a Disney After Hours event? Post in the comments below.

 

 

Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom - Media Preview 1 Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom - Media Preview 2 Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom - Media Preview 3 Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom - Media Preview 4 Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom - Media Preview 5 Disney After Hours at Animal Kingdom - Media Preview 6
Chip and Co Past Writers and Friends